How can I upgrade my Zoom app?

As of Friday, April 10, 2020, all managed Windows computers’ Zoom app will be enabled for auto-upgrading. The next time users open their Zoom app they will be prompted to upgrade and should accept the change. Note that your computer must be restarted for this setting to take effect. This upgrade will ensure that any security changes to the Zoom app will be applied directly and quickly from Zoom.

Important changes and enhancements from this upgrade include:

  • Remove the meeting ID from the title bar. The meeting ID will no longer be displayed in the title bar of the Zoom meeting window. The meeting ID can be found by clicking on the info icon at the top left of the client window or by clicking Participants, then Invite.
  • Invite button under Participants. The button to invite others to join your Zoom meeting is now available at the bottom of the Participants panel.
  • Local file transfer in meeting chat. The feature file transfer in meeting chat has been re-enabled. Third-party file transfers and sharing clickable links are still disabled.
  • Security icon in host’s meeting controls. The meeting host will now have a Security icon in their meeting controls, which combines all of Zoom’s existing in-meeting security controls into one place. This includes locking the meeting, enabling Waiting Room, and more. Users can also now enable Waiting Room in a meeting, even if the feature was turned off before the start of the meeting.

Zoom FAQ

If you are struggling with an issue not featured here, the answers to most commonly asked questions, including ones not listed below, can be found in our Zoom Cheatsheet.